Fox Visiting Scholars

Fox Visiting Scholars spend anywhere from a week to a year at the Fox School, pursuing their research, interacting with Fox faculty and graduate students and participating in the life of the school and wider university.  Fox Visiting Scholars include Ph.D. students, junior as well as senior faculty.  Scholars are typically provided with an office, library and internet access.  They are recognized as full members of the Temple community with most of the rights and privileges thereof.  This provides access, for example, to Temple’s extensive online academic resources, its rich calendar of cultural events as well as its excellent athletic facilities.

SELECTION CRITERIA: The distinguished visiting scholars will be selected on a competitive basis among submissions by either departments or individual faculty. The basis of selection will be the scholar’s research caliber and reputation, potential or existing collaboration with Fox faculty and PhD students, willingness to include the Temple University affiliation on projects conducted while visiting the Fox school, and existing financial support (e.g., Fulbright scholars).

The distinguished visiting scholars may engage in a variety of activities during their tenure at the Fox School. These activities may include, but are not limited, to (a)Participating in research colloquia, such as seminars, panels, or keynote engagements; (b) Collaborating with Fox faculty and PhD students on joint research projects; (c) Engaging with industry partners on research projects with Fox faculty and PhD students; (d) Co-supervising and serving as external readers for PhD dissertations in the Fox School; (d) Participating in research seminars and offering feedback on research projects by Fox faculty; (e) Teaching classes at the Fox School, such as specialized, elective, or regular courses for PhD, MBA, or undergraduate students; (f) Editing their research in a monograph volume published by Temple University Press.


  • Henrik Dellestrand, 2009-10 Fox Visiting Scholar, won the Barry M. Richman Best Dissertation Award (IM Division) as well as the Schaffer award for best paper in applied international management at the 2011 Academy of Management meetings. He was also a finalist for the 2011 Richard N. Farmer Best Dissertation Award of the Academy of International Business. He has been appointed to a academic position at the University of Uppsala.
  • Marcus Møller Larsen 2011 Fox Visiting Scholar, has been appointed Assistant Professor in the Strategic Management and Globalization Department, Copenhagen Business School. He won the 2014 Academy of International Business (AIB) Buckley & Casson Best Dissertation Award. Work he undertook at Fox has recently been accepted at the Journal of International Business Studies.
  • Philip Kappen 2011 Fox Visiting Scholar, has been appointed Associate Professor at Copenhagen Business School.

Fox Visiting Scholars include:

Alessandra Perri, Assistant Professor, Department of Management, Ca' Foscari University of Venice, Italy, 2014.

Eunkyung Park, Ph.D. Candidate, Department of Business and Management, Aalborg University,Denmark, 2014.

Vittoria Giada Scalera, Ph.D. Candidate, Dipartimento Ingegneria Gestionale, Politecnico di Milano, Italy, 2013-14.

Roderick Bugador, Ph.D. Candidate, International Business and Strategy, University of Reading, UK, 2013.

Gouya Harirchi, Ph.D. Candidate, Innovation and Organizational Economics, Copenhagen Business School, Denmark. 2013.

Kristin Brandl, Ph.D. Candidate, International Economics and Management, Copenhagen Business School, Denmark. 2012, 2013.

Xavier Tinguely, Ph.D. Candidate and Research Assistant, University of Fribourg, Switzerland, 2012.

Philip Kappen, Associate Professor, Strategic Management and Globalization, Copenhagen Business School, Denmark. 2011.

Andre Sammartino, Department of Management and Marketing, University of Melbourne, Australia. 2011.

Ieva Martinkenaite-Pujanauskiene, Ph.D. Candidate, BI Norwegian School of Management, Oslo, Norway. 2011.

Marcus Møller Larsen, Ph.D. Candidate, Strategic Management and Globalization, Copenhagen Business School, Denmark. 2011.

Randi Lunnan*, Professor of International Business, BI Norwegian School of Management, Oslo, Norway. 2010-11.

Sara McGaughey, Professor of International Business and Director, Strathclyde International Business Unit, University of Strathclyde, Scotland, The UK, 2010.

Anita McGahan, Rotman Chair in Management, University of Toronto, Canada. 2009, 2010.

Mark Lorenzen, Associate Professor, Innovation and Organizational Economics, Copenhagen Business School, Denmark. 2009.

Jörg Zimmermann, Post-Doctoral Fellow, Max Planck Institute, Jena, Germany. 2009-10.

Henrik Dellestrand, Ph.D. Candidate, Department of Business Studies, Uppsala University, Sweden. 2009-10.

Satyajit Gubbi* , Ph.D. Candidate, Indian Institute of Management, Calcutta, India. 2009.

Christian Geisler Asmussen, Assistant Professor, Strategic Management and Globalization, Copenhagen Business School, Denmark. 2009.

Jean-Malik Dumas, Ph.D. Candidate, Tilburg University, The Netherlands. 2009.

Lyubov Bogun*, Associate Professor, Odessa Institute of Entrepreneurship and Law, Ukraine. 2007.

Magnus Persson, Ph.D. candidate, Uppsala University, Sweden. 2005-06.

*  Also a Fulbright Scholar